Ross Valley Fire Department


The District is governed by an eight-member Board of Directors appointed by the city councils of Fairfax, San Anselmo, Ross and the Sleepy Hollow Fire Protection District to indefinite terms.


The Ross Valley Fire Department was established July 1, 1982 when the Towns of Fairfax and San Anselmo decided to entire into a joint powers authority agreement with the Sleepy Hollow Fire Protection District to provide general fire protection and emergency services to the Ross Valley area. RVFD responds to all requests, emergency or not, within their jurisdiction and neighboring areas of Marin. The department's primary goal is the safety and well-being of their citizens, community, and environment. In addition to fire services, RVFD provides community education through training courses and residential and commercial fire safety inspections. 


  • Number of personnel
    34 total full-time equivalent positions
  • Roger Meagor
    Fire Chief
    Phone: 415-258-4686
    Email Roger Meagor
  • Joanne Lewis
    Administrative Assistant
    Phone: 415-258-4686
    Email Joanne Lewis

Board Meetings

  • 6 p.m.
  • 2nd Wednesday monthly
  • Ross Valley Fire Department
    777 San Anselmo Avenue
    San Anselmo, CA 94960

Board of Directors

  • Frank Berto
    Sleepy Hollow Fire Protection District
  • Kathleen Hoertkorn
    Town of Ross
  • Jeff Kroot
    Town of San Anselmo
  • Tom McInerney
    Town of San Anselmo
  • John Reed
    Town of Fairfax
  • Richard Shortall
    Sleepy Hollow Fire Protection District
  • Carla Small
    Town of Ross
  • David Weinsoff
    Town of Fairfax