Skip to main content

Marin County Major Crimes Task Force


The agency is governed by a nine member Oversight Committee with rotating term lengths.


In 1979, a joint powers authority agreement was signed between Marin County, Belvedere, Corte Madera, Fairfax, Larkspur, Mill Valley, Novato, Ross, and San Anselmo at the recommendation of the Marin County Police Chiefs' Association. Marin County Major Crimes Task Force is managed by the Sheriff's Office with their main focus being narcotic related investigations. MCTF also serves as a countywide investigations resource and supplements the efforts of the existing local law enforcement agencies to better deal with major cases or criminal activity that no single jurisdiction can effectively deal with independently. 

Major Task Force Resolution