Skip to main content

Public Utility Districts

A Public Utility District may provide facilities and services for light, water, power, heat, transportation, telephone/telecommunication service, wastewater and solid waste disposal, fire protection, recreation, public parks and other public buildings, streets, and street drainage.

Public utility districts are governed by a three or five-member board of directors, although a larger board may be instituted by LAFCO in the course of a consolidation proceeding. 

The jurisdiction of a P.U.D. may consist only of unincorporated territory. The boundaries of a public utility district may be altered by the annexation of unincorporated, contiguous territory, or the annexation of non-contiguous territory of at least 10 privately owned acres lying within three miles of the closest district boundary.

Join our mailing list